Safety first
PU Prime review
Who regulates PU Prime, under which licence, and what that means for your money.
Last checked
If PU Prime failed, we cannot tell you what would happen to your money, and that is the finding. There is no compensation scheme behind an account here and limited obligation on the firm to keep your funds apart from its own. Regulated by Seychelles FSA (SD050); Mauritius FSC (GB23202672); South Africa FSCA (52218); UAE CMA (20200000388), offering MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, PU Web Trader, PU Prime App.
Our rating
- Regulation7.8
- Costs9.1
- Platforms8.5
- Markets7.9
- Support5.0
- Education2.5
One rating, identical across our sites - only the way it is shown changes. It averages six assessments: regulation, trading costs, platforms, markets, support and education.
Regulation and safety
- Regulated by
- Seychelles FSA (SD050); Mauritius FSC (GB23202672); South Africa FSCA (52218); UAE CMA (20200000388)
- Regulator tier
- Tier 2
- Register entry
- Relevant FSA/FSC/FSCA/CMA registers
- Client money segregated
- Yes
- Held at
- Not publicly specified
- Negative balance protection
- Yes
- Compensation scheme
- No statutory investor compensation scheme identified for primary international entities
- Audited by
- Not prominently disclosed
- Not available to
- Includes United States, Singapore, China, Philippines, FATF-blacklisted countries and sanctioned regions
The licence is what decides where your money sits and who is obliged to do something about it.
PU Prime's licence is offshore (FSC and FSA). Offshore entities typically offer higher leverage and lighter reporting, and compensation schemes do not apply - the trade-off is protection, not price.
The FSCA licenses derivative providers in South Africa without a fixed retail leverage cap, so headline leverage is often higher than an FCA or ASIC entity may offer.
An FSC licence (Mauritius or Belize, depending on the entity) is an offshore authorisation with lighter reporting duties than a tier-one regulator.
An FSA licence here is usually the Seychelles authorisation - an offshore entity, with lighter obligations than a tier-one regulator.
Check the licence yourself: the Seychelles FSA list of regulated entities, the Mauritius FSC register of licensees, the FSCA list of regulated entities.
The company behind the brand
- Legal entity
- PU Prime Limited
- Company number
- 8426654-1, Seychelles entity
- Headquarters
- International; group operations include Seychelles, Mauritius, South Africa and UAE
- Founded
- 2015
- Publicly listed
- No
- Parent company
- Independent
- Employees
- Approx. 200-500
- Also trades as
- PU Prime; formerly Pacific Union
What it costs to trade
- Spread from
- 0.0 pips
- EUR/USD spread
- 1.3 pips Standard; 0.0 pips Prime advertised average
- GBP/USD spread
- Variable
- Commission
- Prime: $3.50/side; ECN: $1/side
- All-in cost, EUR/USD
- Approx. 0.7 pips on Prime at a zero raw spread
- Spread type
- Variable
- Overnight swap
- Both: swaps may be charged or credited
- Inactivity fee
- No prominent standard inactivity fee
- Deposit fee
- Generally none internally; third-party fees can apply
- Withdrawal fee
- Method-dependent
- Currency conversion
- Applicable where conversion is required
Cost is the last thing to weigh here, and never the thing that should decide it.
A quoted spread from 0.0 pips is a raw-spread figure, which almost always means a separate commission per lot. Compare the two together - a "zero spread" account with a high commission can cost more than a wider spread with none.
Quoted spreads are best-case figures on the most liquid pair, in normal conditions. What you actually pay widens around news and at the session open.
PU Prime lists a minimum deposit of 20. Treat it as the cost of opening an account, not the cost of trading one - position sizing on a small balance is what tends to cause damage.
Platforms and tools
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, PU Web Trader, PU Prime App
- Own platform
- Yes
- Mobile app
- PU Prime App plus MT4/MT5
- Browser trading
- Yes
- Automated trading
- Yes
- Copy trading
- Yes
- Indicators
- MT4/MT5 and proprietary-platform tools
- Third-party tools
- MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, Autochartist
- API access
- Not a prominent standard retail feature
MetaTrader 4 remains the most widely supported platform for expert advisors. If you rely on an existing EA, this is usually the deciding factor.
MetaTrader 5 handles more asset classes and order types than MT4, but expert advisors are not compatible between the two - an MT4 EA will not run on it.
Markets and execution
- Markets
- Forex, Shares, Indices, Commodities, Metals, ETFs, Bonds, Synthetic Indices
- Currency pairs
- 50+
- Total instruments
- 1,000+
- Crypto CFDs
- Availability/jurisdiction dependent
- Maximum leverage
- 1:1000
- Execution model
- Account-dependent; ECN offers direct Tier-1 liquidity access
- Execution speed
- Ultra-fast execution advertised; no reliable universal average published
- Order types
- Market, limit, stop, stop-loss, take-profit, trailing stop and MetaTrader orders
- Servers
- Global trading infrastructure
Leverage up to 1:1000 is available on this entity. High leverage does not increase your expected return - it increases position size for the same deposit, and shortens the move needed to close you out.
PU Prime covers forex, shares, indices, commodities, metals, etfs, bonds, synthetic indices. A wider range matters less than depth in the instruments you actually trade.
Funding options: bank transfer, cards, e-wallets and numerous regional payment methods. Check withdrawal routes as well as deposit ones - they are often not the same, and the difference only becomes apparent when you try to take money out.
Accounts
- Minimum deposit
- 20
- Account types
- Standard, Prime, ECN, Cent, Prime Cent, Islamic, Demo
- Account currencies
- USD, GBP, CAD, AUD, EUR, SGD, NZD, HKD, JPY, USC for Cent
- Islamic account
- Yes
- Demo account
- Yes
- Professional account
- ECN/high-volume offering rather than conventional regulatory Pro classification
- Minimum trade size
- 0.01 lots
- Time to open
- Typically a few minutes, subject to verification
Deposits and withdrawals
- Deposit methods
- Bank transfer, cards, e-wallets and numerous regional payment methods
- Withdrawal methods
- Bank transfer, cards, e-wallets and applicable original funding methods
- Deposit time
- Method-dependent; many electronic methods fast/instant
- Withdrawal time
- Method-dependent
- Local payment methods
- Extensive regional options
Support and education
- Support hours
- 24/7
- Contact channels
- Live chat, email, phone, Help Centre
- Languages
- Multilingual
- Telephone
- +248 437 3105
- info@puprime.com
- Live chat response
- Typically within minutes
- Education
- Extensive: educational articles, webinars, platform education and trading guides
- Research
- Market analysis, news, Autochartist and trading insights
Questions people ask about PU Prime
What happens to my money if PU Prime goes bust?
PU Prime sits behind No statutory investor compensation scheme identified for primary international entities. A scheme covers eligible clients of the entity that holds the licence, so the entity you were onboarded to decides whether it covers you.
Which bank actually holds client money at PU Prime?
PU Prime holds client money with Not publicly specified, in accounts kept separate from the firm's own. Almost no comparison site publishes this, and it is the thing that decides how quickly you would see your money again if the broker failed.
Can I lose more than I deposit with PU Prime?
PU Prime provides negative balance protection, so a gap through your stop should not leave you owing money. It is usually a rule of the regulator rather than a favour from the broker, which means it can differ between the entities one brand operates.